B2B Thought Leadership – Helping solve an immediate, complex problem


Recently Tim Parker of the Bloom Group write an article entitled Thought Leadership: It’s Not About the Writing.  In it he delineates the Bloom Group’s definition of thought leadership:  “Publishing information material on a complex issue to position a company as an expert in its field”.  While I agree with the definition, I still wrestle with a notion that it takes up more space.

I still don’t have a definition of it that satisfies me, but hopefully some day soon I will stake my claim.  So far, the best I can say is that I disagree with Gartner’s recent definition (see this post for my reasoning). Admittedly that is a cowards way out, but for now, it’s all I can do.

The Bloom Group’s post, however, is prov0cative in its use of the words “complex and immediate problems”.   While of course immediate problems are very important, sometime the issue is so complex that it cannot be readily be defined with enough specificity to invite a solution.   In others words, thought leadership is not just about solving the problem but also serves to discover out the nuances of the problem.

I will try to come up with a good example of this in my next post.  All the best.  Mark

About Mark Delfeld

Experienced B2B Marketing Professional with a track record of generating demand, penetrating new markets and maximizing the pipeline View all posts by Mark Delfeld

Leave a Reply

